Movie Review: Orange

Intro: Naho receives a letter from her future self asking her to prevent her friend from committing suicide. Will she be able to complete this task? Or is the future set in stone?

(Spoiler free) Final thoughts below:

Based off the manga by Takano Ichigo and adapted into an anime and a live action, I was super pumped and added this to my summer list.0b15e101f92dd59858047573cb56f1b31437366532_full

For a live action manga adaptation, I can’t stress enough how great this was.

The actors are all absolutely phenomenal in this, the emotions were real, and I cried. A lot.

This was a personal thing for me considering I’ve had friends who’ve died way too young and I would do anything to bring them back. Naho has this chance to save Kakeru, a boy tormented by the suicide of his mother. He believes he’s at fault since they fought a lot before her death and his life spirals out of control into depression.

I liked how they were realistic and careful with the topic of suicide. It was very well done.

I liked the themes of this movie, and the fact that Kakeru had friends who looked out for him and were able to save him. Suicide is a serious thing that unfortunately, most people don’t know how to handle.

If you know someone who is contemplating taking their life, please read this article.

 

 

Final thoughts:

If you want to watch the movie, you can do so here subbed. It’s fantastic and really gives you a lot to think about. I loved it and now I can’t wait to read the manga to experience it once more.

tumblr_nrr8ou3h1i1rdk1qdo2_r2_1280

Again, if someone you know is suicidal, be there for them, read this article, and don’t hesitate for help. This is someone’s life.

Fantastic movie, the FEELS are real, and I recommend this to everyone.

If you like what you see, please follow or share. Thank you!

What did you think of the movie? What are some regrets you wish you could fix? Have you read the manga/seen the anime?

14 thoughts on “Movie Review: Orange

  1. meltotheany says:

    I think I told you before that I bought this manga (Vol. 1), but haven’t read it yet. WELL, YOU JUST MADE ME MOVE IT UP ON MY TBR! Because I really want to watch this now! It looks beyond amazing! Seriously, thank you for bringing this to my attention! Also, I’m so sorry about your friend(s), and I hope this series brought you peace. ❤ xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thayane Brownie says:

    I have read the manga, it’s really touching… It made me cry a bit (a lot) … I havent saw either the anime or movie, I’ll watch when i have time for sure.

    I was really depressed over high school, i havent done anything trying to take my life but i have some times when i was thinking of it… It’s really scary to be in this kind of situations and not want to tell anyone (and thinking no ones carry if you take your life). When i think about this now, how people would know how i fell if i havent told them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Leafさんの夢が。。。 says:

      Hi, Thayane,
      I agree, this was a very touching story.
      I’m so sorry to hear that. I know you’ve prolly heard this a lot but it’s very true that no matter what you think, there will always be someone out there who loves you and cares about you. Don’t think the world hates you when you feel that way because there is always someone there for you ^^
      I’m glad you managed to get out of that but if you ever need to talk about anything, I’m here for you! ^^ And so are a lot of other people, friends and family. Stay strong girl!! XD

      Like

  3. HijackedCat says:

    Ah, I’ve been heading so much about Orange, but tbh, I don’t want to touch it for now. As someone who tried suicide, and has dwelt with depression for years I’m not sure I’m ready to face Orange (^_^;)
    Tho I am curious! (☆^ー^☆)

    Liked by 1 person

      • HijackedCat says:

        Heya ( ´ ▽ ` )ノ
        Eh, I’ve been with a fever since yesterday because of a tetanus vaccine (I think I took it too early but the nurse insisted I hadn’t taken yet ugh). Yesterday it wanted to reach 38°C, today it’s a cold and hot fever ORZ
        Thank you bb ( ˘ ³˘)❤
        Will note that when I add it to the my watchlist (○´3`)ノ

        Like

Leave a Reply

