I’m Going to Japan! \((( ̄( ̄( ̄▽ ̄) ̄) ̄)))/ヤッター!

I wanted to make this announcement in April but I had to make certain before I dropped the bomb 😛

46067599

I was accepted to study abroad in Kyoto this summer and I leave May 12th. I still can’t believe this is happening and I wanted to share this news with all of you.

I can’t even believe this is happening. I can reunite with my friends after 10 years-an entire DECADE O.o  and I can improve my Japanese.

Thank you again for reading my blog and I promise to continue reviewing otoge. Due to my classes I won’t have a Hakuoki Kyoto Winds review up but I promise to get to it after I return.

If anyone has any recommendations for beating the heat and cheap places to get food and manga/otome merch PLEASE let me know ^^ Thank you!

I will be blogging about my trip to Japan and this will likely go onto a menu at the top so please look forward to that ^^

If you like what you see please follow or share. Thank you!!!

36 thoughts on “I’m Going to Japan! \((( ̄( ̄( ̄▽ ̄) ̄) ̄)))/ヤッター!

  1. Sindy says:

    Ohhh yess you did it woo!
    Looking forward to your posts about living and going to college/uni there.
    Reuniting with friends? Have you gone on an exchange or something?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. seiuchigirl says:

    Omg! I studied abroad for a year in Kyoto in my junior year of college (…2 years ago? wow I’m old these days haha). I wasn’t there during the summer, unfortunately, so no recs for beating the heat but definitely attend the matsuris! I think the mountain burning(?) one was one during the summer that I particularly wanted to attend.

    In terms of food/shopping in general, you’re definitely going to be hitting up Kawaramachi, which is both a JR (the standard bullet train) and subway line stop. It’s a standard sheltered shopping area of a few streets (extending to Termachi, etc.) and a few department stores. It has the standard second-hand anime march shops like Laoshinbang, Animate (a tiny one lol), and Melon Books, with some more guy-catered shops as well. There aren’t any otome-specific stores but there’s always a small otome section/yaoi doujinshi/all that fun stuff. In terms of finding these stores, they can be a little tucked away but they’re all along those small streets! In terms of other stuff near Kawaramachi, I’d definitely recommend the arcade near Loft (a little north of the stores). It’s four or five floors with tons of purikura and everything from horse racing to music games to bowling! In terms of food, you HAVE to try the melon pan with ice cream stand. There’s also solid karage at the stall that gives yellow paper cups (sorry, I don’t remember the name but there are two karage stalls) and a really good udon place closer to the arcade. For chain restaurants, there’s the always reliable Coco’s Curry nearby.

    Whew, that’s only the Kawaramachi-related stuff for food and anime goods. There’s so much more to check out there and elsewhere in/near Kyoto, for food, sightseeing, etc.! Of course, grain of salt please because I was there two years ago, but I’m sure at least most of these are still there. Sorry for rambling forever, but feel free to comment back/email me if you want further recs! I’m sure your friends will have great suggestions as well, and I’M SO EXCITED FOR YOU (and jealous). 🙂 I’m sure it’ll be an absolutely amazing time!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Leafさんの夢が。。。 says:

      seuichigirl!!! *glomps* GURL thank you srsly don’t ever worry about rambling lol. Say as much as you want on my blog I look forward to it!
      Thank you so much for all this info this is going to help so much!
      Please feel free to rec other things like clothing stores (I’ll need to get some lol) and whatever else you can think of if you don’t mind.
      Haha thank you again and I can’t wait!! xD

      Like

      • seiuchigirl says:

        *glomp back* hehe, I’ve been lurking for a while, obviously waiting to word barf here.

        Hmmm, clothing-wise Uniqlo’s always a staple and has “larger” sizes (as in typical American sizes) if you’re not tiny Asian-sized, though the cut on the items is a little smaller than the American versions. Uniqlo isn’t really regarded as the pinnacle of fashion though, kind of like an Old Navy in Japan. There’s a Zara nearby though! I’m also a size 8 in shoes, which is large there; a lot of the shoes at fashionable boutique stores are just small(6)/medium(7)/large(8), though there are more standard shoe stores like ABC Mart that maybe go up to a 9. I’d say the most trendy young fashion store that’s a chain there is Spinns, which legit sells some very wearable cute things. Other than that, I’d just wander around Kawaramachi and the younger fashion department store (forgot what it’s called, but near Loft), and look at the wide variety of boutiques provided the sizing’s ok! I generally barely made the cut for one-size items and wore medium/large sizes, and I’m size 4/6 and thank god flat-chested because those tops are not very bust-friendly. I’m also 5’6″ with a slightly longer torso so shirts tended to be on the shorter-side, though wearable. Lots of cute jewelry and hair accessory stores though that I highly recommend checking out, regardless! They don’t get too expensive, even at the department stores. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Leafさんの夢が。。。 says:

        Haha thank you so much and trust me, if you ever need to word barf I’m here to read haha.
        OO good to know! I’m a size 0 in jeans and am also pretty flat-chested so I should be ok but then again you never know with Asian sizes….

        Like

      • seiuchigirl says:

        (Hehe.)

        Also, yes, you sound set! Japan has such diverse clothes, I’m sure you’ll be able to find unique things you’ll love. 😀 Other than that, be sure to check out the deer park in Nara (though they’re pretty vicious tbh), matcha-themed food in Uji if you’re into that, okonomiyaki and better shopping/Universal Studio (last time I was there they had cool attack on titan limited time displays!) in Osaka, and overall pretty places in Kobe. They’re all 1-2 hours by JR. Then momiji (red leaves) in the fall in Kyoto, and ofc all the temples and the Kyoto museum of art! Oh, last food-related suggestions near kawaramachi/shijo area: Takashimaya is the fanciest department store w the best basement food (with a Chinese chain called something like 451 that has the best nikuman imo), and the area has a lot of tabehodais and izakayas we’d frequent, all pretty solid. If you’re old enough to drink (20), there’s also Butterfly club that does a free drink and admission for ladies with a foreign passport though I think you need to go before 11pm. Not to be a bad influence lol.

        If you need Tokyo recs, I have them too but I just followed the tips on a lot of other otome/travel blogs. HAVE A SAFE TRIP AND FUN TRAVELS!!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. sylphalchemist says:

    How awesome! Congrats 😀
    Hope you have a lot of fun and good luck with the heat. I’m a sissy with the heat 😦 The first to turn on the AC and last for the heater xD At least the subways in Japan don’t smell like they do here in NYC! (or at least I hope they don’t!)

    You must update take pictures of all the awesome things you see/buy :3

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Reare Noella says:

    Congrats Leaf!!!! That’s kinda amazing to re-unite with your friends after 10 years. Just wondering, are s you staying staying in Japan for what course exactly or..?

    Well I had never step foot in Japan so I’m really envy right now (in a good way ofc) *sending virtual hug* and I hope you’ll spam us with pics of Japan and otome nor rejet store you’ll visit (I think my cousin and Sena once mention in Ikebukuro the rejet shop the place to go for otome merchandises) and I can imagine Leafy here will glomp at everything lmao jk XD

    Look at me giving you places in Tokyo despite you’ll be living in Kyoto instead lmao. But really, good luck and congrats again *throws confetti*

    Liked by 1 person

    • Leafさんの夢が。。。 says:

      Reare!!!! *glomps* How are you? It’s so good to see you again!!
      Haha thank you! I never expected this to happen-at least not until I got my BA.
      Idk if I’ll be heading down those places 😦 but then again, I get to go to Japan and speak to people so that’s enough for me. I’ll be taking an intensive language course.
      If I can though, I’d love to visit those places so thank you for the recommendations!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Reare Noella says:

        *glomps* Oh wow, congrats! Will you be staying during the summer only? But at least one of the major thing you can do in Japan is to unleash the hidden otome kokoro inside lmao XD and you can purchase older otome games and drama cds for a cheaper prices considering no more shipping and other charges

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

