Study Abroad: Campus Tour, Examination, Kinkakuji Temple, and My Wonderful Roommate

This post is a combo of days 3 and 4 because I didn’t have time to record the 3rd day since-you guessed it!-I got lost yet again.

At Orientation, Mr. Tanaka introduced himself and unknowingly made a daddy joke.

He’s a funny guy who wants us to succeed. He said if we missed our family he could be our dad for us-obviously wasn’t supposed to be a dirty joke, but it happened. And oh boy was it awkward because everyone clamped up and didn’t laugh. The guy next to me, Jerry, nearly lost it though.

We finally met our “buddies” this day. Our buddies are students who take time out of their schedule to help foreign students become accustomed to campus life.

One of them is named Tetsuya, “Mr. Kinpatsu” who was scolded several times by Mr. Tanaka because he doesn’t do his homework, has been at the school for too long, and is addicted to karaoke. He’s a super cool guy and I enjoyed talking to him during our trip to the Kyoto Museum for World Peace.

We exchanged LINE and he invited me and several others to karaoke, which I’ll be going to on Thursday xD

The problem is I can’t understand most of what he says, only snippets. He told me how he was born near Tokyo but learned Kansai-ben there and I expressed how much I love the dialect so he switched to Kansai-ben for a while and it was awesome.

Tetsuya is the guy in the states every girl would fall head over heels for. He’s really lax about everything and takes life for what it is. He’s certainly more outgoing than the others which makes it easier to approach him. He’s got super Jpop blonde hair and Zheni, a Chinese student, said “he’s the typical Japanese boy” according to China-basically every Japanese boy band ever.

29564-abcz-fypz.jpg

Just imagine the guy on the far right but hotter. With swag and fashion sense. And every attractive quality you can imagine and that’s pretty much him.

That night I became closer with people at my dorms and we decided to go out for Okonomiyaki. Well, the restaurant was too small to fit us (literally a small building in the middle of a residential area) so we had to wander around.

And yes, got lost.

Wasn’t all bad since we found a dango shop. I wanted to save my money so I didn’t buy anything there or at the Conbini. A girl and I shared my lovely ramen packs together and she showed me how to put eggs into them. It was so good and I’ll never eat the cheapo ramens without eggs again.

I was in my pj’s and eating dinner-makeup free, of course, as it always is when a cute guy decides to show up. It was the first time Zheni spoke to us. He hangs out only with his Chinese friends and I always worried they were judging me because every time I walked by, the group would just STARE and WHISPER secretly.

My roommate, Angiee, later told me they all thought I was really pretty. She said that when they asked who her roommate was, she said “The pretty one” RIP ❤

Funny thing is I said the same about Angiee to everyone else haha because she truly is gorgeous.

Zheni wanted to know where on our school map the best route to campus was and we all made plans to leave together. Now, I’m self-conscious but I really am so blessed to have these people for dorm-mates. I feel so comfortable with them! Despite how I was bare-faced and dressed in ratty, mismatching pjs, I felt so relaxed.

I wasn’t worrying about how I looked.

And that’s something I wish everyone could feel everyday. Contentment and happiness with those around you.

We left the next morning and took an exam to determine what level our language skills were. We had an oral interview-which I butchered all the conjugations for-and a written one, which was honestly a joke. After the test I used an Eastern-style toilet for the first time and GUYS. It’s not difficult.

Try one. Don’t fear the toilet.

Then we went to Kinkakuji temple with another gorgeous buddy named Chie and it was soooooooo pretty! I talked more with Zheni and Gen, and at one point they both leaned in really close to me and I internally freaked out because they’re so cute. They were surprised to see that my eyes had several colors like green, gold, and red. And that my hair had gold and red in it.

They said that in China, women pay thousands just to dye their hair brown. I had to explain that my hair color is considered plain and they were shocked to hear that.

It was a small thing to them but it meant a lot to me that someone finally saw my eyes weren’t dark brown but hazel. When your family has beautiful eye colors and you don’t, it sucks when yours are so dark the color is hidden.

Jerry and I talked more and he was so kind. He gave me a coin to burn incense sticks for prayers. I bought an omamori for myself and a friend for luck with studying.

IMG_20170517_234501475IMG_20170517_234516780IMG_20170517_234527526IMG_20170517_234540025

Our “goals” for the temple were to find the Phoenix and the Chair. Can you see it on the temple? (Please excuse bad photo quality)

IMG_20170517_135818767_HDR.jpg

The Chair is actually a throne of sorts for an emperor-sorry couldn’t understand all of it. Anyways, you can take pictures there and one boy sat down in the most regal way.

As we were exiting, a strange thing happened.

A bunch of young girls were filing past when one of them saw me, stopped dead, and pointed. All of them turned around and surrounded me. It was terrifying.

They proceeded to rush at me.

And they were almost my height. There were so many of them. The girl then said, “BIJIN!” and they all started saying it over and over again and pointed at me. One girl even started taking pictures of me.

Chie explained that in Japan, there are two words that women aspire to be called. One is kawaii. And then bijin, which means beautiful.

Needless to say that was a strange experience, but I was and still am shocked and so happy to receive such a comment. Especially when you’re dying in the heat and worried sweat is going to roll off your face.

The day only got better because we met some long term residences. We’re not allowed to cross onto their side but they can come to us for some reason. A boy we met is going to be drafted into the Korean military in 2 years and so is studying here for a break.

Before bed, my roommate came back and we talked more. Angiee is such a lovely person and she’s so pretty! She actually opened up more to me and showed me her journal, where she records every day in Japan here. She even draws in it and it’s absolutely amazing how talented she is.

Angiee can speak 5 languages: Cantonese, Mandarin, Japanese, English, and French. She’s studying economics and wants to work at a bank someday. She said she wants to draw me since we’re friends and my heart can’t. Ugh she’s so awesome.

It was a great day and I met so many awesome people today. My self-esteem certainly improved and I’ve slowly broken out of my shy shell. Living in a foreign country forces you to adapt and to reach out and I’m so glad I had the guts to apply.

Now let’s hope I get a good grade haha.

If you like what you see please follow or share. Thank you!

 

27 thoughts on “Study Abroad: Campus Tour, Examination, Kinkakuji Temple, and My Wonderful Roommate

  1. Sindy says:

    Ahh I’m curious how you, your roommate and other friends look like. It sounds like you’re having such an amazing time. ><
    Also every time I see people get grossed out or scared of eastern toilets really amuse me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reare Noella says:

    Ah, your post is getting cuter I swear ♥

    But I’m really wondering how did the daddy joke went tho XD “Hi, I’m your daddy.” “You won’t need a family, you need a daddy” “You won’t be alone. You have daddy” “Your daddy is me”

    I’m sorry//slapped *bows 90 degrees*

    Idk why but I’m imagining a textbook scenarios lol. Like one of those japanese textbook (like Genki) where they gave charaters for the sake of learning (read: unrelated sappy love story) and so happen dear lovely Leaf is one of them from Murica XD

    Zheni and Angiee are being lovely and it’s nice to know your self estime has gone better. Everyone is beautiful and different so don’t be afraid being different 🙂 and now I’m curious on how you actually look lol. I’m a chinese myself and your friends are right about chinese girls are paying a lot to highlight nor dye their hair to light brunette ish color. Most of my friends (males and females) dyed their hair to brunette right after high school graduation so when we all came to school for our high school results… all of my chinese classmates legit dyed their hair (ombre and highlight are the most common)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Leafさんの夢が。。。 says:

      Haha omg you’re right it is like a genki scenario!! 😮 And really? Wow cultures are so different and so fascinating! I’d love to travel more. Wbu? And haha really? Did you dye your hair too? It’s strange to me bc I think black hair is beautiful. I don’t understand why it’s not considered that way but it is a different culture so there’s no way for me to know.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Reare Noella says:

      yup just like those genki books, it’s both funny and cute the fact that you have been loat for like three times+ already X’D

      I only been to Singapore, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Indonesia and Italy and I’ll LOVE TO TRAVEL MORE. I don’t dye my hair considering my hair is natural in a shade of.. tofee-ish (?) but just how you had stated that your hair is consider plain in the US, it’s similar here. The difference between hair and eye color is pretty amazing here tho.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Reare Noella says:

        Cultures are interesting indeed! But it’s kinda sad to see some part of tradition are slowly fading away hurhur so it’s really nice to see someone enjoying and perserving the culture despite not sharing the same race and ethnicity so I really admire you, Leaf for being adventurous *army salute* (opps.. got a lil too deep in the topic) hearing Leafy using the crouching toilet made me grin tho XD I grow up using that toilet wayyy back before I went to school until I step foot in my campus lmao.

        I will def travel more if I wasn’t hook up with otome merchandises huhuhu not too long ago Rejet released yet another drama cd didn’t they? Now I’m staring hard at Corpse Heart. Frick. Way to go Rejet. Way to go. *slow claps*

        Yay for the bombastic hair then *flips the hell of da hair* so you’re more to auburn then? Now I’m really imagining Leaf from Pokémon gdi XD since I’m a product of interacial marriage people won’t guess I’m chinese lmao until I open my mouth :’D but now I’m really curious about your eye color since the combination of green, gold and red def makes things interesting and lmao on “when your entire family have beautiful eye color and you don’t” I feel you XD

        Liked by 1 person

      • Leafさんの夢が。。。 says:

        I agree. I wish more people were open minded. And haha the toilets are fun! They’re not scary lol
        YAS THEY DID GURL lol and I managed to snag some lovely DWD stuff xD
        Haha yep! xD I’ve had ppl I look like her and I hope I do lol since I always liked her. Haha I can’t imagine the struggle you face. You prolly get asked where you’re from a lot right?
        Haha they’re hazel but only show in direct sunlight. They look dark brown otherwise.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Reare Noella says:

        Good for you 🙂

        True that about the question where I’m from XD it’s already bad enough I’m gigantic tall lol so they either assume I’m mix or I’m an immigrant from the West. But since I speak the local lingo’s fluently so automatically “must be a mix” 😛

        Oooooo I have fasicination with eyes so for me every eye color is unique ♥

        Liked by 1 person

  3. sylphalchemist says:

    😀 glad to hear you’re having a good time! You’re surrounded by some fun folk!

    Is the Eastern toilet the one you crouch over to do the deed? Those were interesting to use lol. I kept thinking “please don’t pee on my pants x 10” (I wasn’t sure due to how you squat if you’d end up firing into the bowl or your pants xD)

    Those charms are lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

