Study Abroad: Unnecessary Drama -_-Fashion, Pokemon Center, Rejet, Karaoke, etc.

So I kind of smooshed all the missing days into this post!

We have weekends off so we stopped at a bakery called the Petit Bear. The food was delicious for such a cheap price. I was so hungry I ate it all without thinking about snapping a few pics. Sorry!!

However, we did manage to do some interesting things.

Firstly, we played Showdown with my dorm-mates Tyler, Gabbi, and Vanne. Then we rode the bus after getting an ICOCA card to a fancy ass mall called Takayashimaya where people slap down hundreds for high end brands.

While I personally think it’s a waste to spend $500 on shoes or $300 for a shirt I love the style here. Women wear these amazing puffy pants that look like maxi skirts when they walk.

ff8f1c71884eb35579126a6208494df4

Despite how short the people are, they look fantastic in them and I really want to get some. The fashion here is honestly very different from care-free America and I feel like wearing Japanese clothes when I get back will be received in a mixed manner.

Some will find it intriguing.

Others will be very confused about the need to protect your skin from the sun and why women wear hose during the summer-which I already do anyways because it makes my legs look fine 😉

But when both guys and gals here dress up all the time (as annoying for them as I can imagine it must become) I really appreciate it. They put time and effort into their daily presentation, which is important to them, and really makes me feel super plain here.

Dresses, skirts, and flowy things might seem like the best option, but the style here is so simple and stylish that no matter how beautiful your outfit is, you’re going to want to try Japanese clothes. Especially in the summer.

I eventually got myself a pair as well! My room is unfortunately so small I can’t exactly spread it out for you to see all it’s glory, but I should be wearing them in future posts for you to look at xD

DAvW-TVUMAELKYq

Women pair these with heels or tall wedges and I love it. I’m about 5’3 and so in America none of the long skirts fit me. I even have a difficult time with pants. So it’s great to actually fit into clothes for once. Problem is they’re so. Damn. Expensive.

Afterwards, we went to the Pokemon Center where I picked up my bae, a baby Charmander who was my first Pokemon and a huge part in my journey of gaming.

I also discovered the heaven that is Melon Soda. Here is all the stuff I’ve bought so far too lol.

LINE_P20170527_230421713_(1)LINE_P20170527_230426604

The books are novels for Library Wars. They were originally novels that were then adapted into a manga, anime, and finally a live action series. I sincerely hope the novels are licensed in English one day along with the live action films. For now, I have everything that exists for them rofl.

We’ve been to a few shrines and while I didn’t go to Fushimi Inari because I don’t do well in heat, I got lovely pics from my friends who went. I don’t know if they took this but they sent it to me soooooooo

1495890357197

Here’s a wish granting tree from a temple we went to

IMG_20170525_153533312

We also went to Karaoke. Vante and Yang Yang have angelic voices. Tetsuya also is a great singer and it was difficult for me to sing. At first it was because I was embarrassed, but then after that wore off it was clear my voice isn’t very strong to begin with. While I could sing along fine and my voice wasn’t bad, it was hard to hear me rofl.

But oh boy do I feel bad for Tetsuya. He’s fallen hard for a girl at school here I’m friends with and another girl who already has a bf is trying so hard to get some while she’s here. Despite how she’s friends with the girl Tetsuya likes and she knows her friend might like him back. WTF.

It’s resulted in really awkward situations and she’s been disrupting the peace here. Tetsuya, who doesn’t study, has been hitting up the library to learn English so he can communicate with my friend ❤ and he quit smoking for her too.

How to Get The Girl 101-better yourself and respect yourself before you make a move.

I really hope things work out and the other girl will finally QUIT what she’s doing because she’s not only making a huge fool of herself, disrupting the peace, pissing off the locals, etc. but she’s making everyone very uncomfortable with this middle school drama.

Don’t travel abroad to screech and cry when things don’t work out for you. It’s rude, disrespectful, and a waste of everyone’s time.

Anyways, as you can see from my items above, I acquired things from Rejet at Animate in Teramachi.

Definitely a great time. I may be going to Nara to see the deer tomorrow but who knows haha.

Oh and guess who’s going to see One Ok Rock?! xDDDDD

I hope this post has been entertaining and if you know where cheaper clothes are PLEASE tell me rofl.

If you like what you see, please follow or share. Thank you!

18 thoughts on “Study Abroad: Unnecessary Drama -_-Fashion, Pokemon Center, Rejet, Karaoke, etc.

  1. Sindy says:

    Meanwhile I loved their peach water drink!! I bought an extra 2 bottle back and was sad when I finished them haha.
    I loved Fushimi Inari >< Probably one of my favourite places in Kyoto.
    And the things Tetsuya is doing for the girl he likes is sweet~

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reare Noella says:

    Hey hey ♥

    It’s very admirable for Tetsuya tho to make himself a better gentlemen but I really hope the girl would open her eyes and noticed what Tetsuya is doing…. *cheers from afar*

    I also noticed the pants a lot too! Since east asian fashion is pretty huge here, shops like Uniqlo and Muji is selling them like crazy XD ahhh so Leaf is 5’3 *squishes and poke Leaf* I’m a giant stick so finding pants is def one the major problem I have in my daily life lmao everything I wear became miniature lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • Leafさんの夢が。。。 says:

      I know I sincerely hope she realizes! A lot of guys really worry that girls won’t notice them but just focusing on bettering yourself will do it. We notice that they’re more confident, that they worked hard on improving themselves, and that’s extremely attractive.
      They’ve been on a few dates already and she’s pretty happy about them. I don’t know how she feels about him though, but this is a good start.

      Right? they’re so cool! Haha ooooo damn you keeping a profile of me somewhere? 😉 Haha but hey I srsly wish I was taller. It sucks never being able to see anything when someone walks in front of you or no one takes you srsly.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Reare Noella says:

      Girl I hope you fall hard for Tetsuya since he seems fineeeeeeee but who knows *grabs popcorn* hope they do date each other soon lol so I think I’ll be sticking here too see how the relationship blossom XD

      Well since we don’t know how each other look like I always pick out details or profiles about themselves as… refrence? idk how to explain lol. Maybe I’m collecting information about you *chuckles like a maniac* so far Leaf is:

      -a 5’3 bean (hahaha I’m sorry but srsly if you were to stand beside me, I will literally tower you :’) )

      -a toffee hair beauty

      -a hazel brown eyed

      But being short (idk how you describe short- I think your height is ok? maybe since in America, there’s a diverse of height) has its own merits. Maybe you’ll look more adorable and beautiful ;D but luckily in most part of Asia, 5’3 is consider a bit above average. Most girls that I have met in Malaysia are usually 5’3″ as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. jennymangoes says:

    I have a couple of those flowy pants as well! My sister brought them with her on a vacation (she lives in Japan) & I managed to make her give them to me 😂 They’re great for days when you just wanna chill and not wear jeans LOL.

    Also, drama! Yay. I love those sorts of things >:) Hahahaha.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lehst says:

    Yay~! another adventurous post!

    Too bad about the drama. Hopefully as long as everyone else remains mature and respectful, things will work out. ^^;;

    I think about Japanese fashion kind of a lot, at least for having never been there. I think about wanting to visit Japan, but I will stand out so badly being so western and tall. Also, my SO is a bit overweight (in Japan, considered VERY) but I think he is most attractive as he is now (I don’t go for thin guys!) So I worry even more about staring and rude comments. I’ve heard that some younger and impolite Japanese even whisper things out loud.

    Even in America, being tall has its drawbacks too. It sucks standing out for being tall, and you can’t wear heels. Though I guess some confident women still do, but I live in a backwater area. I went on vacation to a much more fashionable Florida last Feb. I was finally able to be “me” and wear all my fun fashionable things. I have a whole collection of fedoras in different colors and I wore one like everyday. I’ve always worn them sometimes when I go out, but it sucks that I definitely stand out where I live. It just gets tiring having to psych myself up whenever I want to wear the things I like. Even at an anime convention apparently. I dressed as Hidari Shōtarō 2 weeks ago, but felt awkward because as expected, no one had any idea what Kamen Rider is. x’D I can’t win in this backwater place!

    I do try to think about the positives though. Technically being tall is attractive for various reasons, and I can reach high shelves. And I suppose it is convenient being able to dress lazy sometimes and no one cares here. Anyways, my point is, I can see how you feel about how depending on where you are in the world, how you dress and fit in can be a very different experience.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Leafさんの夢が。。。 says:

      Exactly, Lehst! It’s a difficult because no matter what you do beauty standards are different whereever you go. But then again this allows you to experience different things.

      Haha I wish i could ear hats like you and look great.

      Regarding your SO and yourself, the fact that you’re foreign is going to draw attention. If they make rude comments that’s on them. Just enjoy yourselves if you come here!!!

      Besides, as much as this sucks to say, as a foreign woman you’ll get more leeway. That and more attention. So just own it is all I can say because what else can you do? 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lehst says:

        Thank you. That is very encouraging! 8D

        I heard that there’s drawbacks to looking like a native Japanese when you are actually totally foreign as well. No leeway there, huh? I’ll just have to be confident and remember that unless a specific invidual says something, it is probably all (mostly?) in my head. x’D I’ll tell myself they are just jealous cuz I’m so gorgeous! (lol no. well maybe? x’D no no no )

        Yeah! Different beauty standards and different challenges! That is the way it goes. And there will always be rude people where ever you go. I just have to remember that there are lots of nice and understanding people too. I personally hope to just be around people that don’t care either way and mind their own business lol. Thankfully my trip to florida (which was a rare chance to get away from everyday work) went well since we didn’t encounter any rude people. I was actually nervous, even in my home country lol.

        Yeah, in Japan I’ll stand out just for looking different. I’ve heard it is often just a case of “wow I’ve never seen a person with western features up close before. that’s new.” Here’s hoping I can visit someday.

        I await your next post! when you have the time lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Leafさんの夢が。。。 says:

        Haha it seems to be the case. I’ve constantly been told I look like Harry Potter or a Doll. It’s strange but one of my friends I made here explained that if you look foreign in ANY way they find it almost alluring.
        If you’re pretty than there’s even more attention that you’ll be exposed to and some of it will be shocking-hence the woman who snapped pics of me in the bathroom and another who started combing her fingers through my hair.
        It’s a surreal experience-especially if you come from a country where that’s considered rude.

        It’s true that asians who come to Japan are seen as almost an oddity since they share similar features. It’s a shock to them to discover that this person isn’t Japanese. I can’t exactly fault them for that since their country is nearly entirely Japanese.

        Honestly, beauty is different for every person. But for some reason foreign women tend to be regarded in a much more positive light by both genders here.

        I’ve heard about some issues that African-American women have had here-a strong stereotype is them being a sex icon of some sort.

        Of course, none of these experiences define any person nor does it equal the country. Simply their perceptions. The younger generation for sure is more open to foreingers.

        However, there’s a pretty strong sense that a lot of the Japanese guys at my school are looking for a quick detour to a love hotel. But who knows?

        The culture is different and there’s a lot to take in. So just have fun, Lehst! Try and not wear graphic t’s since the staring will only increase. Long flowy clothes help you blend in and slathering sunblock on here is a rule almost haha.

        Have fun!!! ^^

        Liked by 1 person

  5. TwoHappyCats says:

    I’m glad the drama ended up settling down. Actually when I was on my study program in Korea, a guy actually followed his girlfriend on the program because he was worried she would flirt with other guys! Also I’m love with the Charmander you picked up 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

